Resort moorland classic · Perthshire
The King's Course, Gleneagles
Auchterarder, Perthshire, Scotland · Area: Perthshire
- Moorland
- No handicap needed
- Visitors 7 days
Last checked
Can we play it?
Yes. Gleneagles is a resort, open to golfers of all abilities all year, and it doesn't ask for a handicap certificate. Non-residents pay a slightly higher visitor rate than hotel guests and must prepay. Add it to your trip and Scotland Golf Tours requests the tee time for you.
Access
Visitors and hotel guests every day, year round, subject to availability and maintenance closures. The same per-round fee covers the King's, Queen's and PGA Centenary courses.
The catch
Price and closures. July 2027 is £500 a round for visitors, and the King's is shut for maintenance through December 2026 and 1–10 January 2027, plus single days most months.
Our tip
Check the King's closure calendar before fixing a date, and if the King's is shut on your day, the Queen's or PGA Centenary is the same price.
Our golf travel partner
Add King's Course, Gleneagles to your golf trip
We build a day-by-day plan, then Scotland Golf Tours requests the tee times and sends a final quotation.
Golfers
At a glance
- Course type
- Moorland / heathland (inland)
- Visitor days
- Daily, all year (closure dates apply)
- Handicap limit
- None; no certificate asked for (men and women)
- Green fee
- $160–$665£120–£500 · 2027 · checked 15 Oct 2026
- Rates
- 2027 visitor (non-resident) rate per round, Jan–Jul 2027 published: £120 Jan–Feb, £160 Mar, £210 Apr, £260 May, £315 Jun, £500 Jul. Aug–Oct 2027 not yet published (Sep 2026 was £405, Oct 2026 £275). Hotel guests pay less (e.g. £465 Jul 2027). Day ticket (2 rounds) e.g. £700 Jul 2027. Same fee for King's, Queen's, PGA Centenary.
- How to book
- With your trip: Scotland Golf Tours requests it for youThe club also takes bookings direct
- Caddies
- £80 per player per round ($105); group caddie/forecaddie from £91.50, £122 for four golfers (club's caddie page). Gratuity not stated.
- Buggies and trolleys
- Carts £60 on the PGA Centenary only; on the King's and Queen's a cart needs a medical exemption and a booked caddie. Trolley £10, Powakaddy £28, club hire from £55 (2026 prices).
- Check-in
- At The Clubhouse, with the Golf Retail team. How early is not stated.
- Nearest airport
- Edinburgh Airport (EDI) · about 55 min (resort says about an hour from Edinburgh or Glasgow)
How to get a tee time
Put King's Course, Gleneagles in your trip and the specialists handle the booking.
Build your trip
Tell the trip builder your dates, group and handicaps. King's Course, Gleneagles goes into the plan.
Get a checked plan
Day by day, with King's Course, Gleneagles's visitor rules, drive times and an estimate in dollars.
Scotland Golf Tours requests the time
They send every player's name and handicap to the club, arrange caddies, and send a final quotation.
Say yes, then play
Nothing is booked until you confirm. On the day: check in at The Clubhouse, with the Golf Retail team. How early is not stated.
Our golf travel partner
Want King's Course, Gleneagles booked for you?
Scotland Golf Tours handles tee times, hotels, drivers and caddies, and sends a final quotation.
Build a trip around King's Course, Gleneagles
Other courses on our list nearby. Drive times are best case, without traffic. Add the ones you like and we’ll plan the route.
- The King's Course, Gleneagles · you’re herein your trip
- Royal Troon1 h 35 min
- Prestwick Golf Club1 h 35 min
- Dundonald Links1 h 35 min
Your trip so far · 1 course
King's Course, Gleneagles
2027 dates to know
- King's Course maintenance closures: 1–10 Jan; 5 & 26 Apr; 17 May; 7 & 28 Jun; 19 Jul; 9 & 30 Aug; 20 Sep; 12–16 Oct 2027 (also 16 Nov–31 Dec 2026). Subject to change.
FAQ
- Can visitors play the King's Course?
- Yes, every day, whether or not you stay at the hotel. Non-residents pay a slightly higher rate and prepay.
- Can you book King's Course, Gleneagles for us?
- Yes. Build your trip with King's Course, Gleneagles in it and Scotland Golf Tours requests the tee time and sends a final quotation. Nothing is booked until you confirm.
- Can we book it ourselves?
- Yes, directly with the club. If King's Course, Gleneagles is one of several courses on your trip, it’s simpler to plan the whole trip in one go.
- What handicap do we need?
- None. Gleneagles says it doesn't ask for a handicap certificate.
- How much is it in 2027?
- From £120 ($160) in January–February to £500 ($665) in July 2027 for visitors. August–October 2027 prices aren't published yet.
- Can we take a cart?
- Carts (£60) are for the PGA Centenary Course. On the King's you need a medical exemption and a caddie to take one.
- When is the King's closed?
- 16–30 Nov and all of Dec 2026, 1–10 Jan 2027, then single days: 5 & 26 Apr, 17 May, 7 & 28 Jun, 19 Jul, 9 & 30 Aug, 20 Sep and 12–16 Oct 2027.
Sources
- 1. Gleneagles: Green fees15 Oct 2026
- 2. Gleneagles: The King's Course (fees, closures)15 Oct 2026
- 3. Gleneagles: Golf (no handicap certificate)15 Oct 2026
- 4. Gleneagles: Golfer's journey (check-in)15 Oct 2026
- 5. Gleneagles: Directions15 Oct 2026
- 6. Gleneagles: Terms & conditions (cancellation)15 Oct 2026
Spotted something out of date? Tell us
